Whenever you are disposing old mobile phone or tablet, it is important to make sure that you properly erase your entire personal picture, videos, emails, contacts and other files from it to prevent any potential misuse. The common mistake that many users make it that once they assume that nobody can recover them. Unfortunately merely deleting files from your device does not guarantee that they cannot be recovered at anytime using good data recovery software. Hence whenever you are disposing an old device it is important that you permanently erase all your personal data from it.
- If you are using an Android device, then to make sure that your personal data is permanently erased from it, you need to first encrypt everything stored on your phone by going to Settings > Security > Encrypt Device.
- You can now erase all personal data from your phone by doing a Factory reset by tapping on Settings > Accounts > backup and Reset > Factory Data Reset. By encrypting your data in the previous step and then doing a factory reset, you have made doubly sure that it will be very difficult for somebody to recover it.
- If you are using a SD card for additional storage space, then you have two options. You can either physically move the SD card to your new phone or if you are planning to dispose the SD card too, then you need to encrypt all the data on it by going to Settings > Security > Encrypt External SD Card.
- You can now formatting the SD card by going to Settings > Storage > Format SD Card and ensure that all the personal data gets permanently erased beyond recovery.
- If you are using an iPhone then all you need to do to permanently erase all data from your device is to go to Settings > General > Reset > Erase All Content and Settings.